What exemptions are available for homeowners?

Full or partial exemptions from property taxes are available to senior citizens and disabled persons. If you are 61 years of age or older or disabled, own the house in which you live, and have an annual household income of $40,000 or less, you may be entitled to an exemption from paying property taxes on your primary residence. The Assessor administers this program and is responsible for determining if you meet the qualifications. For information or to apply for an exemption, contact the Assessor Office.

Taxpayers eligible for the exemption are required to notify the Assessor Office if changes in income or living circumstances affect the exemption. Change in status includes death (survivors must notify assessor), change in income, sale of the property, or change in primary residence. A surviving spouse or domestic partner may continue to receive the exemption if he or she is at least 57 years old and meets all the other eligibility requirements.

If you purchase property that is currently receiving a tax exemption, that exemption may not continue to apply to you or the property. Contact the Assessor Office to determine the exemption status, whether or not the exemption would continue under your ownership, or to determine the tax consequences of purchasing a property that is receiving a tax exemption.

Show All Answers

1. What does the Assessor do?
2. How are property taxes determined?
3. What types of property are taxed?
4. How is personal property assessed?
5. Can I appeal an assessed value?
6. What exemptions are available for homeowners?
7. How are my tax dollars being used?
8. How often are properties revalued?
9. What is the Current Use Program?
10. What are my rights and responsibilities?